0 – Cardiff 10K: My first naff session

“Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrrggggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhh!”

That’s exactly how I felt as I left the gym on Tuesday. For the first time since starting this programme, I felt¬†negative. Really negative.

I haven’t really been following the plan (in terms of how long I’m supposed to have run) for a while. I’ve been able to run 5k since the fourth session (I think), and that’s what I’ve done. Every session, 5k, getting used to increasing the ratio of running:walking.¬†And it’s been going so well. Until Tuesday.

I was feeling a bit of pain below my calves, mainly on the right leg. I’ve experienced it quite a bit since the start of the programme, but it usually lasts just a few minutes and I can carry on as normal. It persisted this time. I stopped after 12 minutes and tried to walk it off. Started again but it soon returned.

I wasn’t in the best of moods heading into the session, either. And I think that played a big part in me struggling. I couldn’t concentrate on what I was doing. I was annoyed that being in bad mood had affected my performance. And in turn, I became annoyed with myself for letting it get to me. I guess it just shows how important your mindset is before and during exercise. I may be wrong, but I feel like I would’ve been able to push past the pain in my calves had I been in the right frame of mind.

Anyway, I don’t want to dwell on it for too long. I know it’s natural to have a bad session every now and again. I’m really excited for the next one, which shows the negativity hasn’t affected my motivation for the rest of the programme.

 

Leave a Reply

